Skip to content
Belgium bans "non-essential journey" to a number of European areas – RT in French

The Belgian Overseas Ministry mentioned that journey was now "not potential or not approved" to totally different areas of Europe, together with some in France, Spain, the UK, Switzerland and Romania.

Belgium banned on August 1 “non-essential journey” to the Spanish areas of Navarre, Aragon, Barcelona and Lérida in Catalonia, the Lake Geneva area in Switzerland (Vaud, Valais, Geneva) and the French division of Mayenne, on account of of their epidemiological state of affairs.

The Belgian Overseas Ministry has additionally included on this “crimson” listing the Bulgarian areas of Severoiztochen and Yugozapaden, a number of areas of Romania, in addition to town of Leicester (United Kingdom).

Quarantine and screening are obligatory for vacationers from these areas returning to Belgium.

New measures to deal with the rebound

From August 1, anybody coming into Belgium from overseas or who needs to remain greater than 48 hours in Belgium should full an identification type, offering their contact particulars and the locations the place they’ve stayed over the past 14 days. .

Quarantine and screening are “beneficial” for a sure variety of areas showing on an “orange” listing, which notably consists of for France the Paris area (besides the division of Seine-et-Marne), the Pays de la Loire, the Nord division, Haut-Rhin, Haute-Savoie, Meurthe-et-Moselle and Vosges.

These lists are established on the premise of the analysis of an skilled unit, the Celeval.

Confronted with a rebound within the coronavirus, notably within the Antwerp area, Belgium has put in place new restrictions, lowering approved contacts, gatherings and lengthening the carrying of masks. A curfew has been declared from 11:30 p.m. to six a.m. in Antwerp.

The nation had on August 1 68,751 instances recorded for the reason that begin of the pandemic, and 9,841 deaths.